Oops!

On Sunday we went to a Church about a half hour bus ride away.  When we get off the bus we have to look for another mini taxi to take us to the Church.  That ride is only about 3 minutes.  There are several different types of transportation that we could take in that short trip but our mode of choice is a tuk tuk.  It is really a tricycle motorbike with a carriage on the back.  Pretty fun actually…I’ll try and remember to get a picture of one and post it on here soon…

But when we stepped off the bus and were looking for a tuk tuk, I felt something soft underneath my sandal as I took a step.  I looked down and there were 2 full meals of food in styrofoam containers opened up with the rice and meat exposed. There were also incense sticks jammed in the rice.  The whole thing looked very sacred.  Apparently I stepped on someone’s sacrifice to some god, or spirit, or ancestor…not quite sure.  I felt terrible, and looked around to see if anyone had seen the mishap.  Fortunately I don’t think anyone noticed. 

Is that not a strange place to put a sacrifice?  Right on the middle of the sidewalk where the bus lets out?  As you can imagine, Paige and I quickly moved away from the area so that we could not be blamed.   

Leave a comment